OMG! The iPad Killed My College Degree!

I’ve been in college for 6 years. I spent three years in a major that I didn’t enjoy, and am now in my last year of my “second attempt” at the whole deal. If you would have asked me 6 years ago if my degree would be obsolete by the time I graduated, I would probably have just walked away. But now the reality of the situation is sinking in. Graphic Arts Management is a field developed around printing processes, which you well know are slowly turning into a thing of the past. Fortunately, I am specializing in the design side of the field. So, my degree will actually be viable in many different industries. But never-the-less, the fact remains that the printing industry is going through some rather hefty renovations. A lot of “small town shops” will more than likely fall by the wayside in our current economic situation. Larger shops, however, are moving from publication printing to Remote Printing and Variable Data Printing. These are the shops that will persevere through the recession. But this is not the industry that I am interested in.

My focus is in apparel printing. The good ole’ art of screen printing. This is one  industry that won’t be going anywhere any time soon. In fact, many technological advancements create some sort of inlet into the screen printing industry. For instance, one company incorporated a QR code into their design which links you to a short promotional video clip.

The above example goes to show you that the industry will always be able to find a way to adapt to whatever trends are current in society. We are an expressive species and there will always be a desire to graphically represent ourselves. And what better way than to physically wear our inspirations.

When I am asked,”what is the current state of your industry?” I am honest when I say that I think it is thriving and will continue to grow with every new emerging technology. Long live graphic tees!

~ by soyouthinkyouknow on September 13, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
