My Media Dependent Life

At this point in my life, I would say that I am constantly influenced by media technology in some form or another. Probably more than I wish to admit. It all started with MSN messenger. It was amazing to me that I could chat with people from all over the world. I never really understood how it was possible. I just accepted it as the way things were.  Since I was a little kid I have been synced up with the digital world. It is interesting to see how views of online interaction have changed in the past decade. When I was a nub to it all, everyone was concerned that kids were going to get kidnapped by greasy old men on the other end of the conversation. Granted, there are sick people out there, but the over all view seems to be changing. According to Larry D. Rosen, “It’s almost like social networks are training wheels for life in a lot of ways.”  The environment seems to be more transparent these days. It offers a place where kids can learn social skills necessary to survive in our current society.

Now that I am nearing the end of my college career, I am seeing the “big picture” potential of media technology. Businesses are trying to find new ways to exchange information every day. Social media isn’t a stagnant thing. It is a living organism, of which we are in a symbiotic relationship with. I know that if I ever plan on opening my own business I will need to embrace this relationship. Not only are there “social” networks, but there are a lot of networks formulated around the business world. They are here to assist in the sharing of ideas and collaboration of industry leaders. There are so many outlets available at this moment. I am extremely excited to see what will come next.

~ by soyouthinkyouknow on September 7, 2011.

Leave a comment